Lavoy Allen garners Big 5 Player of the Year award

Lavoy Allen, the men’s basketball team’s all-time leading rebounder, earned the Robert V. Geasey Trophy, which is presented annually to the Philadelphia Big 5’s Most Outstanding Player. Allen is the first Temple player to garner the honor since Mark Tyndale shared the honor with St. Joseph’s forward Pat Calathes in 2008.

Allen averaged 11.6 points and 8.6 rebounds per game en route to being name to the Atlantic Ten Conference All-Conference squad for the second-straight year.

Junior guard Ramone Moore joined Allen on the Big 5 First Team. Junior guard Juan Fernandez was named to the second team.